

सरदार वल्लभभाई राष्ट्रीय प्रौद्योगिकी संस्थान, सूरत अ SARDAR VALLABHBHAI NATIONAL INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY, SURAT सरदार वલ्લભભાઈ રાષ્ટ્રીય પ્રૌદ્યોગિકી સંસ્था, સુરત

C/SENATE(30)/2001

Date: 17/08/2013

## CIRCULAR:

SUB: Minutes of the 30th Meeting of the SENATE held on 15/07/2013.

Enclosed please find a copy of the Minutes of the 30<sup>th</sup> meeting of the SENATE for Sardar Vallabhbhai National Institute of Technology, Surat held on 15/07/2013 at 10:30 a.m. onwards in the Conference Room of the Institute Guest House for your information.

The comments, if any, may please be sent at the earliest.

Encl.: As above

17.8.13

(H. Á. PARMAR) REGISTRAR & SECRETARY - SENATE

To, The Chairman, Senate, SVNIT, Surat All the members of the SENATE All the Special Invitee Members of the SENATE



### S. V. NATIONAL INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY SURAT

Minutes of the *Thirtieth* meeting of the *Senate* of the Sardar Vallabhbhai National Institute of Technology Surat held on *Monday, the 15<sup>th</sup> July, 2013 at 10:30 a.m.* onwards in the *Conference Room of the Institute Guest House at Surat.* 

The following members remained present in the meeting.

•

1.	Dr. P. D. Porey, Director			Chairman
2.	Dr. H. C. Trivedi, Former VC, Bhavnagar University, V. V	Nessa		Chairman
3.	Dr. S. R. Gandhi, Deptt. of Civil, IIT Madras, Chennai	. Nagar	÷	Special Invitee Member
<i>4</i> .	Dr. P. A. Parikh, Dean (R &C)		:	Special Invitee Member
5.	Dr. R. A. Christian, Dean (SW)		•	Member
<i>6</i> .	Dr. S. A. Vasanwala, Dean (P&D)			Member
7.			:	Member
8.	Dr. D. V. Bhatt, Dean (A&RG)		÷	Member
	Dr. R. V. Rao, Dean (Acad)		:	Member
9.	Dr. H. J. Nagarsheth, Dean (FW)		:	Member
10.	Dr. P. L. Patel, Prof. & Head, CED		÷	Member
11.	Dr. C. D. Modhera, Professor & Head, AMD		:	Member
12.	Dr. H. K. Raval, Professor & Head, MED		:	Member
13.	Shri M. N. Bhusavawala, Asso. Prof. & Head, EED		:	Member
14.	Shri P. K. Shah, Asso.Prof. & Head, ECED		:	Member
15.	Shri R. P. Gohil, Asso. Professor & Head, COED		:	Member
16.	Dr. Smita Jauhari, Asso. Prof. & HOD, ACD		:	Member
17.	Dr V. H. Pradhan, Asso. Prof. & HOD, AMHD		:	Member
18.	Dr. N. J. Mistry, Professor, CED		:	Member
19.	Dr. B. K. Samtani, Professor, CED		:	Member
20.	Dr. J. N. Patel, Professor, CED		:	Member
21.	Dr. J.E. M. Macwan, Professor, CED		:	Member
22.	Dr. S. M. Yadav, Professor, CED		:	Member
23.	Dr. A. K. Desai, Professor, AMD		:	Member
24.	Dr. C. H. Solanki, Professor, AMD		:	Member
25.	Dr. P. R. Tailor, Professor, MED		:	Member
26.	Dr. H. B. Naik, Professor, MED		:	Member
27.	Dr. D. P. Vakharia, Professor, MED		:	Member
28.	Dr. K. P. Desai, Professor, MED		:	Member
29.	Dr. D. R. Patel, Professor, COED		:	Member
30.	Dr. M. N. Mehta, Professor, AMHD		:	Member
31.	Dr. Ranjit Roy, Associate Dean (P&D)		•	Invitee- Member
32.	Dr. V. L. Manekar, Associate Dean (SW)		:	Invitee- Member
33.	Shri H. A. Parmar, Registrar, SVNIT, Surat		•	Secretary
		•	10	,
		5	P	

1

Dr. A. K. Singh, Vice Chancellor, University of Allahabad, Dr. (Ms.) Meenakshi Raman, Professor & Head, Department of Humanities & Management, BITS Pilani, K. K. Birla Goa Campus, Zuarinagar, GOA, Dr. V. S. Sapkal, Vice Chancellor, Nagpur University, Nagpur, Dr. V. K. Katiyar, Professor Maths., IIT Roorkee, Dr. A. A. Natu, Professor, IIScR, Pune, Dr. G. L. Asawa, Professor CED, GLA University, Mathura, Dr. N. C. Shivaprakash, IISc Bangalore, Bangalore, Dr. H. M. Suryawanshi, Professor, VNIT, Nagpur, Prof. P. P. Mathur, VC, KIIT, Bhubaneshwar, Dr. B. V. Babu, Director, IET, J. K. Laxmipat University, Jaipur, Prof. R. P. Mohanty, Siksh 'O' University, Bhubaneshwar, Prof. Ashok Patel, HOD, North Gujarat University, Patan conveyed their inability to attend the meeting due to their pre occupation and requested to grant a leave of absence.

Further, Dr. ZVP Murthy, Professor & Head, CHED, Dr. K. N. Pathak, Asso. Professor & Head, APD, Dr. H. S. Patil, Professor, AMD, Dr. S. A. Channiwala, Professor, MED, Dr. D. C. Jinwala, Professor, COED, Dr. S. N. Sharma, Associate Dean (Acad) & Dr. P. G. Agnihotri, Associate Dean (FW) could not attend the meeting due to their pre occupation and requested to grant a leave of absence.

At the outset of the meeting, the Chairman and the Secretary of the Senate warmly welcomed all the members of the Senate and wished that, with the sincere efforts and dedication of the Hon'ble members of the Senate; the Institute will reach to the greater heights.

The following business was transacted:

# Item 1: To confirm the minutes of 29<sup>th</sup> Meeting of the senate held on 11/05/2013.

**Reso 1:** "Resolved that the minutes of the  $29^{th}$  Meeting of the senate held on 11/05/2013 be confirmed."

80000

Item 2: To note and approve the action taken on the resolution adopted at the 29<sup>th</sup> meeting of the senate held on 11/05/2013 in the Conference Room of the Institute Guest House at Surat.

- **Reso 2:** "Resolved that the action taken on the resolution adopted at the 29<sup>th</sup> Meeting of the senate held on 11/05/2013 be noted."
- Item 3: To note the recommendations made by the Standing Executive Committee of Senate in its 26<sup>th</sup> Meeting held 03/07/2013.

**Reso.3:** "Resolved to note the recommendations made by the Standing Executive Committee of Senate in its 26<sup>th</sup> Meeting held on 03/07/2013 (APPENDIX:3.1)."

- Item 4: To consider and approve the academic rules and regulations for all academic programmes offered by the Institute from the Academic Year 2013-14 onwards.
- **Reso.4:** "Resolved to approve the proposed academic rules and regulations including certain exam reforms for the academic programs offered by the institute from the academic year 2013-14."

"Resolved, further that, the revised academic rules and regulations be circulated to all the Senate members (APPENDIX: 4.1)."

- Item 5: To note the recommendations made by the Institute Academic Advisor Committee (IAAC) in its 8<sup>th</sup> Meeting held scheduled to be held on 11/07/2013.
- Reso.5: "Resolved to approve the recommendations made by the Institute Academic Advisory Committee – Engineering & Technology (IAAC) in its 8<sup>th</sup> Meeting held on 11/07/2013 (APPENDIX:5.1) with modification in resolutions No. 5.4, 5.7 & 5.11 as under."

#### **Resolution 5.4:**

"Resolved to approve the change of category of Mr. Gujarati Paresh B (DS10ME002) and the Head, MED has been asked to convey the same to the same to the candidates and the DAAC members."

#### **Resolution 5.7:**

"Resolved, further that, the certain steps be taken up soon to decide the cases of LoCs who apply for the change in category to FIR."

#### **Resolution 5.11:**

"As per resolution No. 13 of 28<sup>th</sup> Meeting of Senate, the case of Mr. Zala Girish (P11ST025) is considered as he joined the job during the 4<sup>th</sup> Semester. He may continue his dissertation as a part-time candidate during 2013-14 as per the procedure mentioned in resolution No. 13 of 28<sup>th</sup> Meeting of Senate."

#### Item from Chair:

Item 6: To keep a limit on the maximum number of Ph.D. candidates supervised by a faculty member of the institute

Reso. 6: "Resolved that to constitute a committee under Headship of the Head of Mechanical Engineering Department to finalize the guidelines in this regard. He can co-opt few members to prepare the guidelines for the same."

The meeting ended with a vote of thanks to the Chair.

(H.A. PARMAR) SECRETARY- SENATE

(Dr. P. D. CHAIRMAN- SENATE